Posted on

thank you, Booklist!

I learned today that Ship of Souls has been selected as a Booklist Magazine top ten Sci-Fi/Fantasy Youth title and will be featured in the May 15th issue! I’m told that this is the issue of Booklist that will be distributed at BookExpo America, so if you’re planning to attend BEA, pick up a copy! I’ve been thinking lately about systems and how many of them are closed—if you’re not in the loop, you’re out of luck. And even if you manage to fight your way in, obstacles will still be placed in your way (have you seen that animated video about white privilege? The Unequal Opportunity Race). Booklist is the only major kidlit review outlet that reviewed Ship of Souls (Daniel Kraus gave it a starred review). So THANK YOU, Booklist, for giving my book the chance to compete on a level playing field.

About elliottzetta

I'm a black feminist writer of poetry, plays, essays, novels, and stories for children. I was born and raised in Canada, but have lived in the US for over a dozen years. I teach and write in Brooklyn. When I'm not writing, you're most likely to find me strolling through the botanic garden...

Leave a Reply

